View Full Version : Newbie Help on CS Purchase

BroadwayBlue
04/26/2005, 09:12 AM
Hi Everyone!
I've been checking out the site and it is great.

I've been a Mustang fan since I was growing up in the 60's. I currently own a mint condition 1996 GT Convertible with under 30,000 miles on it but my dream is to someday own a classic.

I'm just starting to learn gather info about the GT/CS. I had some knowledge before but I my friend's Dad is considering selling his GT/CS and while a fastback was what I always thought I would get, this car has really caught my eye.

My question is ... can I get some advice on what to look for before purchasing? I've researched here and other sites the basics (R-code for San Jose) but any recommendations on what to look for or ask for would be great!

I wasn't planning on doing anything right now but this seems like a good opportunity and something I would consider giving up my 96 for.

Thanks in advance!

Rich

Mosesatm
04/26/2005, 09:58 AM
If you want to see if it is authentic the first things I look for are:

Side scoops - the edges should not be flush as they roll into the screened area. In other words there is a little lip on the front edges. The lip can get sanded down and painted over so this is not a foolproof method of identifying a fake but it is a good method of identifying a real GT/CS. As far as I know there are no reproduction scoops on the market with this feature.

Metal taillight covers inside the trunk. Another extremely difficult item to purchase or make.

Also in the trunk are a couple cheap looking foam strips on the underside of the deck lid. This usually gets removed and never replaced.

No running horse emblems anywhere.

On the quarter panel script the "S" in the Special should line up with the "I" in the California.

There are a number of other clues but those are the ones I look for right away.

Hope it helps

Paul Newitt's books list all the GT/CS details.

BroadwayBlue
04/26/2005, 11:29 AM
Thanks for the info.