View Full Version : GT/CS on ebay...GREAT DEAL!!!!


68sunlitgold
03/30/2004, 02:38 AM
If this is real it is a great deal!! It has a buy it now for only $3900, also a V8, not many options (listing is very vague). Here is the link:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2470621159&category=62 36

Doug

DSO51
03/30/2004, 10:06 AM
It looks like it was removed from Ebay. Did someone on the forum purchase this car?

DSO51

68sunlitgold
03/30/2004, 05:17 PM
I was ssooooo tempted to to the "buy it now" last night, I imagine it was a mistake by the owner on the value. He posted it late, he was from Ontario, Canada. The car was dark green with a light green interior. He only had 4 pictures of the car, but what I could see from them the car looked to be a CS.
Doug

hcsstang
03/31/2004, 04:31 AM
I asked for the VIN his reply was check with ebay which it didn't have the VIN listed. ???

68sunlitgold
03/31/2004, 04:40 AM
I too sent him an email and requested the VIN, door tag and options. He has not replied. His ebay ID is primo999
Doug

DSO51
03/31/2004, 07:41 AM
Was this auction be ran as only pre-approved bidders could bid? I am not stating that this is one... but there have been a lot of car auction scams being ran on Ebay lately. They are usually set up as an unbelievable "Buy it Now" price, however; you must be a pre-approved bidder. The seller, usually using or setting up bogus accounts in advance and then waits for the emails to come pouring in. They then request a deposit to be sent overseas. Just an FYI. "Buyer Beware".

Craig

68sunlitgold
03/31/2004, 02:49 PM
DSO51,
YOU HIT THE NAIL ON THE HEAD!!!!!!

I got a reply from the "seller" it is the same scam this guy has been trying to do on a 68 Shelby. Here is his reply:

Hello,

First you have to know the car is available on Ebay,but the bidding is restricted.First reason is because i had many problems with bidders in the past.I think they allways like to bid but not all the time like to buy.The auction is a buy it now one so,only one person can buy it.So i want to be sure the one wich will bid on it, will be the buyer.For that, you need just to be agree with my condition and the car will be yours.

The CAR is in a perfect condition 2003 restaurated with originals components.

It will be shipped from Stuttgart,Germany and I will pay the shipping and insurance charges.

I told you I will pay for the shipping and insurence fees.

Shipping: l will ship via Lufthansa Air Cargo but you can choose other mail carrier .lt
usually takes 3-4 till the car arrives to your door. l will
cover the shipping and insurance costs.


Payment: l'm a serious seller with more than 2 years of experience in
this field.
l'm a fair trader with 100% positive feedback on eBay which is the
proof that l have closed a lot of sucessful deals.
During this period l learned that the best deals are closed when the
risk involved is minimum.
You will arrange payment trough western union(www.westernunion.com).


I have something safe for you because I want you to be sure that
you will receive the car and I hope we will colaborate in future
too because I want to develop this bussines as soon as possible.

Look what can I do for you:
-you will make the transfer to my location but not to my name(you will
use your best friends name for example as receiver's name)so you can be
sure that I will not pick up the money untill you get the car.So
you make a deposit at western union and you will
give me the transfer's details so I can check on their site if itīs
valid.
After I verify I will send you the car imediately and email you the
tracking number from Lufthansa.

-only after you will receive the car and check it if it ok you will
have to call at Western Union to change the transfer to my name so i can collect my
money.So,untill you will have the car in to your door the money will
be deposited on your best friend's name at western union agent.

I think it is better to not inform western union that you will change
the receivers name in a few days because they will ask you to pay the
fees twice.

My old buyers of course make the transfer at western union direct to my
name which is easier and i will be happy if you can trust me and make
the transfer on my details from the beginning but also because it is our
first deal i proposed you this very safe and efficient
method so you can only deposit the mo ney first and after you get the
car to allowed me to cash it.

Probably this payment method it is not very familiar to you but since i
am in Germany (where is a lot of birocracy and this method is very used
)l have used it for many times and each of my customers being
satisfied and l have to admit that it is most efficient process to go
trough.

Return policy: In case you'll change your mind after receiving the
car and want to cancel the order you'll ship it back and retreive
the money from western union. Also in case the delivery does not arrive
on time please email me and I'll contact the mail carrier.

I look forward hearing from you.

Best Regards!

I am sorry I ever posted this....I have seen this same email on the Vintage Mustang forum.

Doug

DSO51
03/31/2004, 06:04 PM
I guess we should consider this a compliment. Typically these scam artists focus on the very high end cars, i.e. BMW, Mercedes, etc.
Don't get me wrong... in my opinion the classic car is every bit as valuable.

This link might be removed from Ebay by the time people read... but this is the way the sale is usually set up.

This might or might not be a scam... I am betting it is.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=6236&item=24711197 44

DSO51
03/31/2004, 08:17 PM
It has been removed. Hopefully Ebay will get control of this in short order.

Just goes to show.... If it looks to good to be true - it probably is.

Craig Dunn
(DSO51)

hookedtrout
03/31/2004, 10:27 PM
It has been removed. Hopefully Ebay will get control of this in short order.

Just goes to show.... If it looks to good to be true - it probably is.

Craig Dunn
(DSO51)


And the sad thing is that the legit sellers will get hurt because of this.

Hook