• Welcome to the CaliforniaSpecial.com forums! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all our site features, please take a moment to join our community! It's fast, simple and absolutely free.

If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Please Note: If you are an existing member and your password no longer works, click here to reset it.

rear quarter panels 67 vs 68 ??????

J.Bart

i ordered late 68 full rear quarter panels, the place where the side scoops go, are different from what is on my 68 gt/cs. the rear quarters that i got, look like 67 rear quarters that haven't had the openings cut out. the contour of the indent differs between the two. has anyone ran into this problem?

HappyHour

I understood the CS rear panels were 67 panels as they had proper spacing due to the mock ducts versus the 68 which didnt. Im no expert the Forum peeps would know. :wink:

gtcs1

i ordered late 68 full rear quarter panels, the place where the side scoops go, are different from what is on my 68 gt/cs. the rear quarters that i got, look like 67 rear quarters that haven't had the openings cut out. the contour of the indent differs between the two. has anyone ran into this problem?

The difference between a late and early 68 quarters is only the rear area for the side markers. The late one (from 15/02/68 onward) have no marker indentend area, because marker were mounted flush. The early one have a dished in recess to mount the marker bezel flush. There should not be difference in the front scoop area.

Keep in mind the GT/CS were made on the same assembly line as the regular Mustang and made during a period where both cars could be made, so the car shell/body was identical, and the GT CS specifics parts were added when the car was a GT/CS.

As far as the 67, they're identical with the late 68 except for the cut-outs for the 2 simulated side scoop on each side.