• Welcome to the CaliforniaSpecial.com forums! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all our site features, please take a moment to join our community! It's fast, simple and absolutely free.

If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Please Note: If you are an existing member and your password no longer works, click here to reset it.

Considering '68 CS- sitting for 15 years+

shamusj

Hello,
I'm new to this sight and really appreciate all the info. I own a '70 GS Stage 1 (please don't hold this against me). My neighbor is moving and much to my surprise there is a '68 CS coupe sitting in the back of her garage. Her husband passed several years ago and she needs to get rid of it.
Seeing as you guys are the experts- I'd appreciate your advice on how to review the car- what to look for/watch out for. Later this week I'll clear the garbage off it and get vins etc. Basically- no rust, no dents, wrong rims/tires, light green paint, looks to be correct trunk, side scoops and fog lights. Gas tank stinks like ripe gas, gas cap was stolen many years ago. Black Cal plates last registered in '89. All tires are flat as could be and accord to owner the front wheels have been locked up for years. It's been out of the weather forever and generally looks faded but clean. Automatic, V8(289?).
My Ford knowledge is faded- owned a '65 C-code (I think that's right) and haven't played with any cars in quite some time.
Really appreciate any help, guidance, tips, etc.
Any ideas what something like this is worth.
Great site!
Thanks,
Mike

StraightSix

The very first thing to look for is that the VIN starts with "8R01." This tells you that it's a '68 San Jose-built coupe, which all GT/CS's are.

The "Features" section of this site will tell you all of the GT/CS stuff to check for. That will clue you in as to what may be missing or incorrect on the car.