• Welcome to the CaliforniaSpecial.com forums! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all our site features, please take a moment to join our community! It's fast, simple and absolutely free.

If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Please Note: If you are an existing member and your password no longer works, click here to reset it.

. Reno Hot August Nights 2015?

Sarge

Hi all,

Anyone with plans to attend the Reno Hot August Nights August 5-9? I think my car will be done with it's restoration before then (barely) and am looking into going up for a cruise.

Has anyone participated with their car as an entrant into the show? No competition judging or anything, just cruising. Since my car will be fresh out of paint at that time, is there any real risk of driving it up and cruising the strip (outside of the obvious rock chip/crash, etc)? I have no experience at having a car fresh out of restoration so don't know if I should "baby it" for 6 months or ??? I would be driving up from Sacramento, and it wouldn't be trailered.

Thanks in advance for any advice,

Robert

robert campbell

Robert,
This event is HOT HOT HOT. I went once a few years back. They had 5 or 6 "mini" car shows at various venues around the city. The cruise was very safe and they block off the streets and only cars that are entered are allowed. Very slow.

You may want to tell your engine builder to install a 160 degree thermostat for added safety. You can install a 180 towards this fall.