• Welcome to the CaliforniaSpecial.com forums! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all our site features, please take a moment to join our community! It's fast, simple and absolutely free.

If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Please Note: If you are an existing member and your password no longer works, click here to reset it.

Newbie Help on CS Purchase

BroadwayBlue

Hi Everyone!
I've been checking out the site and it is great.

I've been a Mustang fan since I was growing up in the 60's. I currently own a mint condition 1996 GT Convertible with under 30,000 miles on it but my dream is to someday own a classic.

I'm just starting to learn gather info about the GT/CS. I had some knowledge before but I my friend's Dad is considering selling his GT/CS and while a fastback was what I always thought I would get, this car has really caught my eye.

My question is ... can I get some advice on what to look for before purchasing? I've researched here and other sites the basics (R-code for San Jose) but any recommendations on what to look for or ask for would be great!

I wasn't planning on doing anything right now but this seems like a good opportunity and something I would consider giving up my 96 for.

Thanks in advance!

Rich

Mosesatm

If you want to see if it is authentic the first things I look for are:

Side scoops - the edges should not be flush as they roll into the screened area. In other words there is a little lip on the front edges. The lip can get sanded down and painted over so this is not a foolproof method of identifying a fake but it is a good method of identifying a real GT/CS. As far as I know there are no reproduction scoops on the market with this feature.

Metal taillight covers inside the trunk. Another extremely difficult item to purchase or make.