• Welcome to the CaliforniaSpecial.com forums! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all our site features, please take a moment to join our community! It's fast, simple and absolutely free.

If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Please Note: If you are an existing member and your password no longer works, click here to reset it.

Tricks to removing moldings undamaged

Mark Puls

Ok I am tearing down my car for a rotisseri resto and trying to do as much of it myself as possible. I have bought manuals and several books but there is nothing quite like experience.

Since this is the first Mustang I have owned I am learning as I go. Part of the reason I am doing it myself is because I kind of enjoy this and I am an accountant by day and working with my hands gives me some satisfaction. Also I want to be able to fix it in the future since I plan to have it for the rest of my life.

Can anyone give me some help on the following:

1. What is the secret to getting the drip molding off undamaged?
2. What is the secret to getting the rear window bottom molding off?
3. What is the key to getting the windsheild molding off?

Thanks Mark

clubpro

Mark,

To remove the drip rail molding you will need a bottle opener and a popsicle stick. You place the stick horizontally on the molding to protect the molding and then use the opener just like you were opening a bottle. Hook the underneath part of the molding and gently pry up and it pops loose. Work your way little by little and the molding comes off easy.

The best part is enjoying the popsicle first before you start the job.

Cheers,

Ron

Last edited:

gazrox

Here's a link on how to remove and install the drip rails - it can be bloody hard to get them off without damaging them, just take your time and pry up short sections, and don't get greedy towards the end by lengthening the section to pry up. Good luck!